Day # 3

Yesterday was day 3 of my 30 day challenge and man did I learn a lot! My body is slowly getting used to exercising again and it no longer hurts as much. It’s still sore and I’m no where near in shape yet, but I am noticing some progress. It’s great! I finally feel like this is starting to pay off. I’m building a habit and I love it!

I also decided to try my hand at new recipe, and it was only a minor disaster. Cooking has never been my strong suit, if I can avoid cooking I will. Any opportunity to have someone else cook for me is wonderful! Unfortunately living by myself means I need to try to learn to cook for myself. That is one of my biggest motivations for doing this challenge, I need to learn to cook for myself and to do so in a healthy way. So I decided to make my own banana pancakes. The final product was wonderful, but the process was a nightmare. The first mistake I made was to use vegetable oil to grease my pan. Yup not doing that again! My first pancake turned out as a half cooked, super burnt mess (check out this picture)

2015/01/img_0121.jpg

The next thing I learned was that due to the different consistency of the batter the pancakes took forever to cook! I had to cook that at a super low temperature to avoid burning them (I learned my lesson the first time) and that meant that they cooked very slowly. The final product was very worth it, but man did it take a while. I have learned that trying new recipes that don’t actually have a specific cooking time on them (that should have been a no brainer, duh!) is probably best left for days when I have no other plans besides staying at home. It took me about 2 hours to actually finish the recipe and have something edible (that includes the time it took me to make all my mistakes and stuff). In the end the pancakes were quite tasty even if the experience in cooking was an ordeal. Here is the final product.

2015/01/img_0122.jpg

Since the majority of this post is about my ordeal with my banana pancakes I’ll leave those as the featured recipe for this post.

Leave a Reply

