Day # 4

Today marks day 4. It’s been a great day. I’ve been so productive! I visited with one of my best friends and still managed to clean my apartment before going to work for the evening. It was great! I love that feeling of being accomplished! It’s been such a long time since I’ve been this productive and man did I miss that feeling. Since starting this challenge I’ve honestly felt like I’ve had so much more energy and motivation to get stuff done. This challenge has been a blessing in so many ways and I’m so glad that started it!

One of the biggest challenges for today is that I am work all night until 1am and will therefore have to fight the urge to snack out of bored. To combat that I’ve only packed a few healthy snacks such as fruit vegetables and some peanuts. I’m hoping that I can curb my appetite, but if I do have to give in at least I am only surrounded by heathy options. There is not sense in denying my body, but there is a difference between snacking because I’m genuinely hungry and snacking because I need something to do.

Since I’m at work tonight and will be mostly eating leftovers I think that my featured meal today will be the dinner I cooked last night. Last night I made pesto chicken spaghetti squash lasagna. It was delicious and incredibly easy. The only downside was the amount of time it took to cook, but that is something I can plan around for next time. It’s a great way to get all the important nutrients such as protein, good fats and vegetables all in one go. As a busy young professional easy recipes make my life so much easier. And makes me believe that even on my busiest of days I can still eat in a healthy way. So for anyone who is interested here is a pic of the final product. I didn’t use cheese and I chose to omit the ricotta (I didn’t have any on hand) and the tomatoes and tomato sauce (because I hate them and no one can ever make me eat that evil weird fruit vegetable thing). I’m not lactose intolerant and I’m not particularly concerned with dairy products they are pretty much my favourite food group, but in the interest of health I have simply been trying to moderate the amount of dairy I have been ingesting.

2015/01/img_0018.jpg

Leave a Reply

